Forget Blogging and Social Media: How Medium Can Build Your Brand

(And Your Bank Account)

Jena Apgar
5 min readMar 27, 2024

If you’re a writer, entrepreneur, or anyone with valuable knowledge to share, building an online presence has probably felt like a never-ending uphill battle.

Starting your own blog is daunting.

Anyone that has ever been in Wordpress and survived a difficult PHP update knows this all too well. Or being hackedeven while paying for security plugins? Fun stuff.

The fickle dance of social media algorithms can be soul-crushing. But there’s a platform often overlooked that could be your shortcut to reaching the right audience and actually getting paid for your expertise.

That platform is Medium.

My Journey: From Medium Zero to Thriving Hero

For two years, I toiled away on Medium, seeing minimal results. But that didn’t matter, because I was mostly moving me and my agency clients away from Wordpress to Kartra, and just dumping content that I didn’t want lost, and we weren’t going to keep.

And I was a little spoiled right off the jump. My first article I moved over, The Startup editers reached out, and immediately published my article.

--

--

Jena Apgar

Marketing Strategist, Interior Designer, Mother of 4 dragons, and Social Media Weirdo with a weakness for Mint Green Tea and Dallas-esque Champaign Campaigns.